U.S. portion sizes

When I got home from Guatemala, my first meal was at the Five Guys inside the airport terminal. I ate a fatty cheeseburger with fries so greasy the entire bag was soaked. I felt disgusting. The joy of eating in the United States was lost with how sick and queasy my stomach felt. Despite this discomfort, I bought a strawberry lemonade and a slice of iced lemon pound cake. I finished both and hated myself more. The worst part is that even with my intense fullness, I felt tempted by every restaurant I saw while walking to my gate. This is a feeling I would experience for months and months to come, until present day. The feeling of being ridiculously full yet still interested in more food. During the last few weeks of summer, I ate out at all my favorite restaurants and completely finished every meal I purchased in one sitting. Rather than stopping when my body signaled to me that it was full, I ate quickly and always cleared my plate. I remember a few of these instances vividly. One lunch at a restaurant in Florida consisted of a cheeseburger with a fried egg and a side of fries. I don’t even want to think about how many calories i put into my body in just minutes. Calories that it definitely did not need. Another weekend was a family event in Ohio with buffet meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I ate enough food at each meal to last me over a full day. Before sophomore year, I went on a 5-day backpacking trip. On that trip, I actually burned enough calories to eat the amount of food I was enjoying that summer. I experienced doing consistent exercise and eating nutritious foods. We brought broccoli, carrots, tomatoes, cauliflower, beans, hummus, peanut butter, oatmeal, kiwi, oranges, apples, nuts, raisins, cheese, rice, and other delicious foods. This experience showed me what it meant to exercise, eat healthy, and feel lively. Maybe TMI but my poop was regular and healthy and my muscles grew stronger. Every time I ate I felt hungry and then was able to satisfy myself. With the exception of this trip, this summer was the beginning of a long period of constant weight gain from overeating. Sophomore year began and it only got worse. The story continues. In the meantime, feel free to contact me at bingerecovery11@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

